Skip to content

A coiled dragon in the heart of the flame

27 November 2008
tags: ,

Walking to work, the dream from the night came back in fragments.  Something about living in a huge, ground floor suite of a large complex.  Other family members all lived there too.  But the part my brain clung to was a piece of artwork I think I had done.  It was a huge canvas, almost as tall as a person and twice as wide.

It was more abstract but did have shapes and some narrative.  Green and golds were the predominant colors, with touches of red and blue.  It looked like a scene of rolling hills, with a burst of flame riding up along the crest toward the viewer.  In the background, a layered coiled silhouette of different greens sat, looking like an oriental dragon.  Strange because I don’t generally like working on big canvas or in very abstract styles.

I used to remember more dreams, with complex plot and perceived meanings.  But I think as I’ve gotten busier in waking life, my brain has used the precious downtime differently and doesn’t have the need to generate so much.  It’s a good thing to have dreams still.

I’ve discussed trying to implement an image from a dream with another creative, and I think we agree it seldom works out the same way.  But I think I’m going to try this one.  I was warned not to let it drive me insane, holed up unshaven in my room, fingerpainting on the walls in an attempt to soothe the mad voices.

Have one piece currently in progress on the computer that will probably take a few weeks to finish still with other things on the schedule, but definitely noting this dream piece down to see what happens.

“From Dunedin the Alert and her noisome crew had darted eagerly forth as if imperiously summoned, and on the other side of the earth poets and artists had begun to dream of a strange, dank Cyclopean city whilst a young sculptor had moulded in his sleep the form of the dreaded Cthulhu.”
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

