Skip to content

Danseur

14 October 2013

 

 

A piece for a challenge on ArtOrder based on the theme of Inspiration.

Learn a movement that can free someone to cry.

I float the aspiration above my nervousness. I tell myself this shouldn’t be a big deal. I’m a kickboxer, equal parts technician and brawler, and I know how to inspire many things with movement – awe, fear, laughter, courage – but there’s always that one piece of the emotional circle barred from me.

The one that you don’t show because it’s more manly to be angry than to be sad.

I tie my slippers for the first time and step into the ballet class. That part that I left behind breaks into blossom.

Leave a Reply

